New president of the European Festivals Association (EFA) elected

12 October 2005

The European Festivals Association has a new president: Darko Brlek, director of the Festival Ljubljana, is newly appointed head of EFA. On the occasion of the General Assembly 2005 in Brno (Czech Republic) last weekend (7-9 October 2005) the president and likewise the two vice-presidents have been nominated. Re-elected Jan Briers, delegated director of the Flanders Festival and Michael Herrmann, managing and artistic director of the Rheingau Musik Festival, complete the new EFA presidency which will lead this major European network of arts festivals in Europe based in Gent/Belgium during the next few years. The 80 present delegates from 50 different festivals across Europe also appointed a new board: Hervé De Colombel, director of the Festival de l’Epau, Massimo Mercelli, director of the Emilia Romagna Festival, José Luis Ocejo Garcia, director of the Santander International Festival, Maria Panagiotopoulou, Hellenic Festival, Izabela Pazitkova, director of the Bratislava Music Festival, Mariette Scholtes, executive manager of the Festival International Echternach, Ibrahim Spahic, director of the Sarajevo Winter and Per Kvistad Uddu, director of the St. Olav Festival have received the mandate to continue defining the working and activities of EFA during the next years. For more information, please contact us at or give us a call at +32 9 241 8080.