President Barroso unveils his new team with new Culture Commissioner from Cyprus

4 December 2009

José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission, today announced the portfolios responsibilities for the next Commission. The President has held detailed consultations with all the Commissioners-designate in order to assign the right jobs to the right people. The President believes that this team can deliver the agenda for change he set out in the political guidelines he presented in September, following his nomination by all 27 Member States and before his approval as President of the next Commission by the European Parliament. President Barroso said: "We have a European programme, and now we have a European team. On the basis of the nominations by the Member States, I have sought to design a College which can generate fresh ideas and new momentum on the biggest challenges we face in Europe today. This College will implement the political guidelines that I presented to the European Parliament. I am confident that this College will be decisive in steering Europe towards recovery and a sustainable social market economy that works for the people. I have put together a strong Commission to fill the enhanced role of Europe, including on the world stage, provided by the Lisbon Treaty. One of the key tasks of this College will be to give life to the new opportunities provided by the Lisbon Treaty. The Commissioners-designate will present themselves in the hearings before the European Parliament in January. After the vote of consent of the Parliament, it will be time to start to work and to produce results for our citizens." The new College will have 7 Vice-Presidents, including Vice-President Baroness Catherine Ashton who will, at the same time, be the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, following the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty on 1 December next. Three of the Vice-Presidents will be women. The new College will have 27 members, including President Barroso, one from each Member State. It includes 9 women. The members of the College come from different political families, notably the European People's Party (EPP), the Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats (S & D), and the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE). 14 members, including the President, were already members of the outgoing College. President Barroso has given a new look to the College of his second mandate. He has announced a number of new portfolios: Climate Action; Home Affairs; Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. He has reconfigured a number of other portfolios: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth; Health and Consumer Policy; Industry and Entrepreneurship; Research and Innovation; International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. There will be a new emphasis on inclusion in the Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion portfolio, and a renewed focus with the Digital Agenda portfolio. Responsibilities of the Commissioners-designate • Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission. • László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion. • Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission. • Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services. • Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development. • John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy. • Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries. • Karel DE GUCHT: Trade. • Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy. * • Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy. • Connie HEDEGAARD: Climate Action. • Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation. • Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. * • Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission. • Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission. • Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming. • Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs. • Günter OETTINGER: Energy. • Andris PIEBALGS: Development.* • Janez POTOČNIK: Environment. • Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission. • Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs. • Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration. • Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud. • Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission. • Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth. * In close cooperation with the High Representative/Vice-President in accordance with the treaties. A table with a more detailed description of the portfolio responsibilities is attached. Baroness Ashton will be the 1 st Vice-President. However, having regard to her specific functions, notably in the Council, the replacement of the President in his absence will be assured by the other Vice-Presidents, in the order of precedence defined by the President. The order of precedence is: Viviane Reding, Joaquín Almunia, Siim Kallas, Neelie Kroes, Antonio Tajani, Maro š Š ef č ovi č . Next steps The new Commission must gain approval from the European Parliament before it takes office for a term of office running until 31 October 2014. Commissioners-designate will appear in individual hearings before Parliamentary committees from 11-19 January. The vote of consent on the new Commission as a whole is foreseen to take place on 26 January. On the basis of the vote of consent, the Commission shall be appointed by the European Council. Then it can start working. I t will do so on the basis of the political guidelines for the next Commission set out by President Barroso in September last. He highlighted the need for EU leadership, shaping globalisation on the basis of its values and interests. Taking global interdependence as the starting point, he set out a transformational agenda for the EU, a Europe that puts people at the heart of its agenda. He emphasized five key challenges facing Europe: • Restarting economic growth today and ensuring long–term sustainability and competitiveness for the future • Fighting unemployment and reinforcing our social cohesion • Turning the challenge of a sustainable Europe to our competitive advantage • Ensuring the security of Europeans • Reinforcing EU citizenship and participation. Priorities for tackling these challenges will be set in a ten year framework to deliver a vision for the EU in 2020, reinvigorating the inclusive social market economy that is the hallmark of the European way of life. The allocation of portfolios has been structured to deliver this ambitious agenda. In his letters to each Commissioner setting out their new responsibilities, President Barroso has underlined the essential role of the Commission as the motor for the EU's efforts to address tomorrow's challenges, as well as the new opportunities provided by the Lisbon Treaty. He repeated his commitment to a smart regulation agenda, respecting subsidiarity and proportionality, focused on clear added value at EU level; paying particular attention to sound financial management; and full respect for the Code of Conduct of the Members of the European Commission. He has also stressed the need for a successful partnership with the Member States and the other institutions, in particular with the European Parliament. Source: Commission press release Related information: • CVs with pictures of the 26 Commissioners-designate are now available on: of portfolios and supporting services