European Parliament approves new European Commission

11 February 2010

The European Parliament elected the new European Commission by 488 votes to 137, with 72 abstentions, in Strasbourg on Tuesday. The vote took the form of a single ballot on the whole College of Commissioners, consisting of one Commissioner from each of the 27 EU Member States. The new Commission will stay in office until 31 October 2014. By way of comparison, the first Barroso Commission was voted into office in November 2004 by 449 votes to 149, with 82 abstentions. The European Parliament had approved the nomination of José Manuel Barroso as President of the Commission already on 16 September 2009. After a lengthy period to compose the new team, with some changes of commissioner-designates after unsatisfactory proof during the EP hearings, the final team was approved on 9 February 2010. In his speech to the Parliament, Commission President Barroso underlined the need for speaking with one voice. In view of the EU Strategy 2020, to be presented in spring, Barroso lined out the broad priorities for the next five years: “making a successful exit from the crisis; leading on climate action and energy efficiency; boosting new sources of growth and social cohesion to renew our social market economy; advancing a people's Europe with freedom and security; and opening a new era for global Europe.” Responsibilities of the Commissioners-designate: • Joaquín ALMUNIA: Competition. Vice-President of the Commission. • László ANDOR: Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion. • Baroness Catherine ASHTON: High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security and Vice-President of the Commission. • Michel BARNIER: Internal Market and Services. • Dacian CIOLOS: Agriculture and Rural Development. • John DALLI: Health and Consumer Policy. • Maria DAMANAKI: Maritime Affairs and Fisheries. • Karel DE GUCHT: Trade. • Štefan FÜLE: Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy. * • Johannes HAHN: Regional Policy. • Connie HEDEGAARD: Climate Action. • Maire GEOGHEGAN-QUINN: Research and Innovation. • Rumiana JELEVA: International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response. * • Siim KALLAS: Transport. Vice-President of the Commission. • Neelie KROES: Digital Agenda. Vice-President of the Commission. • Janusz LEWANDOWSKI: Budget and Financial Programming. • Cecilia MALMSTRÖM: Home Affairs. • Günter OETTINGER: Energy. • Andris PIEBALGS: Development.* • Janez POTOČNIK: Environment. • Viviane REDING: Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship. Vice-President of the Commission. • Olli REHN: Economic and Monetary Affairs. • Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ: Vice-President of the Commission for Inter-Institutional Relations and Administration. • Algirdas ŠEMETA: Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud. • Antonio TAJANI: Industry and Entrepreneurship. Vice-President of the Commission. • Androulla VASSILIOU: Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth. Related information: • The composition of the new college of CommissionersEP press releaseWebsite of new EU Culture Commissioner Androulla VassiliouEFA News: New Culture Commissioner Vassiliou to “strengthen the European Agenda for Culture”